My dad and my non-sexual-life-partner (NSLP) have both sent me links to this story about high-design tiny houses in Japan.
In Japan, Living Large In Really Tiny Houses : NPR. I think my favorite is the “Lucky Drops” home by Yasuhiro Yamashita. Apparently the walls are just millimeters thick, this is achieved through the use of some kind of high-tech “skin.

https://delusionsofminiature.wordpress.com/wp-admin/press-this.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.npr.org%2Ftemplates%2Fstory%2Fstory.php%3FstoryId%3D128953596&t=In%20Japan%2C%20Living%20Large%20In%20Really%20Tiny%20Houses%20%3A%20NPR&s=&v=4#

I tried to look up some more info on the architect’s website but it was in Japanese. However, it looks like Inhabit has some additional images from the architect’s website, for example this floor plan. The design vaguely resembles a boat, this Captain might note!

inhabit floor plan

This whole skin thing really intrigues me. I love how it lets in so much light but obscures what is happening inside. I don’t know that I would make a whole house with it, but maybe a roof could be cool.

Yours ever,

Cap’n Delusional

